PACE Maker of the Year

The PACE Maker of the Year Award is the top honor presented to an individual by the Central Michigan Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (CMPRSA).

This prestigious award recognizes a practitioner who has made a significant contribution to the profession. This person would stand out as a superior example of the management function that establishes mutually beneficial relationships between an organization and the public. The recipient must clearly have demonstrated the superb employment of each of the four components of the public relations planning process:
  • Research
  • Planning
  • Execution
  • Evaluation
In a given year, the recipient must have demonstrated outstanding leadership/management skills, innovation and creativity in a project or program that was challenging and/or difficult in nature.
NOTE: To be considered for the PACE Maker of the Year Award, nominees must have an active APR certification.

The nomination process is a peer-driven system and entries are judged by other public relations professionals within the CMPRSA chapter. You may also download the 2017 PACE Maker of the Year entry requirements.

Nomination Procedures:

  • Letter of nomination must be sent to PACE Award Chair Greg Rokisky,, by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 3, 2017 EXTENDED TO FRIDAY MARCH 10, 2017
  • .
  • Candidates must be nominated by someone in the profession who had knowledge and involvement of/with the individual’s accomplishment/contribution.
  • The letter of nomination must include accomplishment in the past year in clear, complete and concise terms that illustrate why the candidate warrants further evaluation by the judging team.
Don’t miss this opportunity to nominate worthy candidates for one of CMPRSA’s most prestigious awards!

Judging Criteria:

All entries are reviewed by CMPRSA’s PACE Awards Committee Chair(s). Each completed entry will be reviewed and judged by past three (3) PACE Maker Award winners.
The following points are judged as they pertain to the nominee:
  • Specific contributions to the profession
  • Application of and adherence to public relations principals and ethics
  • Leadership roles within the profession and/or community
  • Professionalism pertaining to the nominee's constituents, co-workers and colleagues
  • Teaching or mentoring experiences
  • Public service work
  • Past achievements, such as awards, published works, etc.
  • Additional comments to support the nomination
Please send letter of nomination for the 2017 PACE Maker of the year to PACE Award Chair Greg Rokisky at by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 3, 2017 EXTENDED TO FRIDAY MARCH 10, 2017


2017 Monica Ackerson Ware, APR

2015 Andy Corner, APR

2014 John Truscott, APR
2013 David Waymire
2012 Carrie Rathbun Hawks, APR
2011 Lorri Rishar Jandron, MBA
2010 Kent Love, APR
2009 Kendall Wingrove

2008 Michelle Lantz, APR

2007 Anne Readett, APR

2006 Debra Pozega Osburn, Ph. D.

2005 Douglas J. Klein, APR

2004 Barbara Lezotte

2003 Gail Braverman

2002 Roger Martin, APR

2001 Joanne Eason, APR

2000 Shelia Wright, APR

1999 Elizabeth Boyd, APR

1998 Mark Holoweiko, APR

1997 Diane Marinelli, APR, ABC

1996 Dennis Larson, APR

1995 Shirley Beckman, APR and George W. Brown, APR, Fellow, PRSA

1994 Bob Parsons, APR

1993 Jack Pyle, APR, Fellow, PRSA

1992 Kelly Rossman-McKinney, APR, Fellow, PRSA

1991 Walt Sorg, APR

1990 Paul McConaughy, APR

1989 David Sackman, APR 

website design and development by Web Ascender